Best 30 Used Auto Parts Salvage in Massapequa, NY with Reviews - YP.com
Book appointments, post photos, and write reviews.Open in YP App

Temporary Error.

Please try reloading the page.

11/16/2016
By: Philip S.
Action Auto Wreckers
In response to Mr. Grady Stanford & Jeremiah Stanford review. It was so unfair this issue has nothing to do with you being a veteran. I have great respect for my country and veterans who gave there service, many of family and friends are veterans. You purchased an engine from me on November 4, 2014. Our policy is a 90 warranty. That engine was working fine. You called me after 2 yrs telling me the engine is no good and want a refund. After having an engine for 2 yrs? Since you feel so strongly about this my advice to you is call other salvage yards and ask if you purchased an engine from them if it didn't work after 2 yrs - if you could return it.? You were not taken advantage of. This is a family business and have been in business for 43 years. We have treated our customers with respect and value there business. I am sorry you feel we were unfair to you. I thank you for service to our country. Mr. Tom DiLella - In response to your review and unfair judgement of me and Action Auto. You paint yourself as an honest hardworking person. But you forgot to tell the public how you came to my office and threaten me and my family and even went to my house frightening my family. You purchased the engine on July 9, 2015. Which you said the engines was running fine. You contact me 5 months later advising the engine is no good. You are a commercial moving company and over heated the engine by not check fluids. You were told we give a 90 day warranty I told you numerous times. We have been in business for 43 yrs and we value our customers. It's unfortunate you feel this way. Action Auto Wreckers we have been in business over 43 years. We have great customer service and try our best to help resolve any situation. Unfortunately not all people are satisfied. We take pride and value our customers and will continue the best service we can.
12/10/2015
By: appalachianmovers
Action Auto Wreckers
I recently purchased a $4500 Diesel Engine from this company which was the worst decision i have made in all of my years in business. I paid $4000 to have the engine put in to my truck by a certified technician. When i received the engine back there were multiple issues including gray smoke from the exhaust and oil leaks. I had called and spoke with JR about these issues. He instructed me call him back when i had a diagnosis. I brought the truck to the International Dealer where I was told there were serious issues including an Oil Leak at the oil pump,mass amounts of rust inside the engine caused by the previous owner not maintaining the coolant system, and cylinder #2 had liner cavitation causing excess pressure in the cooling system also stressing the head gasket. The necessary repairs would cost 6k to bring the engine back to where it should have been before it was sold to me. After speaking with the owner of Action Auto wreckers "Phil Schaffer" he offered to fix the engine if i brought it to him but i would have to pay the 4k to have it put back in. I asked Why wouldn't you just pay the dealer to fix the engine so I am not out any more money. I am an honest hardworking individual that would never ask for anything i was not entitled to. All i want is the truck that i use to earn a living repaired at the cost of those whom sold it to me. This company offered to do what was in their best interest not of the interest of their clients. This issue is going to jeopardize my business significantly so i would urge you to think twice before you trust JR and Phil with your hard earned money.
01/07/2014
By: johncabone
Action Auto Wreckers
People answering the phone are extremely rude
10/31/2013
By: allaboutcars1970
Action Auto Wreckers
I purchased a engine from Phil, he was filled with information and so helpful! Will definitely be doing more business in the future
10/29/2013
By: Lisa D.
Action Auto Wreckers
I purchased parts twice from them and both times they were very nice.I had no trouble with the parts or the people.Would absolutely recommend them.
05/09/2013
By: rayjames
Action Auto Wreckers
WATCH OUT and try to find somewhere else to find the part you need. I purchased an engine from Phil at Action Auto Parts in NY. I received an engine that was rusted out, didn't turn over, and was not possible to get running. I tried to return the engine and Phil stopped answering the phone, his staff Mike told me every day that he was out, under a truck, on the other line or gone until some future date. I was not able to get a refund and I don't have the funds to pursue from here in Nebraska. I am out the money and hope that this message gets to people before they get ripped off by Phil and his fraudulent company. Really watch out folks this guy is bad to the bone.
04/24/2013
By: jonathon.campbell.102
Action Auto Wreckers
SCAMMER BEWARE.... RETURNED ENGINE FOR A REFUND AND PHIL TOLD ME I WOULD GET A CHECK. I SENT INSTRUCTIONS FOR A WIRE TRANSFER AS THAT IS ALL THEY WOULD ACCEPT FROM ME. THEY SAID NO. I SENT THEM MY ADDRESS INFORMATION AND FEDEX ACCOUNT NUMBER AND AGAIN THEY DIDN'T SEND IT. NOW A MONTH LATER I AM STILL OUT MY MONEY AND I GET THE RUN AROUND. LOUIS SAYS THAT PHIL NEEDS TO DEAL WITH IT AS SHE GAVE HIM THE CHECK. YOU CALL FOR PHIL AND HE IS ALWAYS OUT OF THE OFFICE ACCORDING TO MIKE. YET YOU CALL IN ON A BLOCKED NUMBER OR A NUMBER FROM A DIFFERENT AREA CODE AND HE IS IN BUT THEN THEY SEND THE CALL TO VOICE MAIL BEWARE AND ONLY PAY WITH CREDIT CARD IF YOU DO MAKE THE MISTAKE OF USING THIS COMPANY. AT LEAST THEN YOU GET YOUR MONEY BACK
Tips & Advices
Some dealers accept returns if the component is returned with the original invoice. Some dealers might charge a re-stocking fee for returns. Others may not accept returns at all. It's common for dealers to not accept returns on electrical parts. Customers should ask about return policies before purchasing.
A salvage yard might test used car parts before selling them, but customers should ask whether tests have been performed on the part or not. All parts, especially electrical components, should be tested prior to purchase. Most salvage yards and auto repair shops should have a 12-volt battery to test electrical parts.
Sometimes it is worth buying used car parts. If the part is in good condition, a car owner could save money by buying the used part. However, if the part is something that's unsafe to purchase used, like brake parts or air bags, or if the part is too deteriorated to be safe, it's worth the cost to buy new.
Junkyards are businesses where people can shop for used car parts. Other names for these businesses include salvage yards and automotive recyclers. Auto repair shops might also sell used car parts.
Yes, most used car part dealers sell to the general public. However, just like with any car parts purchase, buyers should look into the dealer’s warranty policy and might want to price shop at several places.

Just a moment...